Skip to main content

Profile protection

Overview​

In Next Design, you can disable profile editing and protect profiles for each project to prevent unintentional changes to profiles while editing the project.
When a profile is protected, the following operations are disabled:

  • Viewing and modifying metamodels
  • Modifying view definitions
  • Importing profiles
  • The following operations for reusing profiles
  • Adding profile references
  • Updating profiles
  • Viewing profile changes
  • Viewing profile changes
  • Managing profile references
  • Converting profiles to reference format
  • Replacing profiles

Protecting profiles​

To protect a profile for the project you are editing, follow these steps:

Replace with an image that has a tailoring group on the ribbon

Operation procedure
  1. Click [Profile] > [Access Control] > [Protect] from the ribbon.
  2. In the [Profile protection] dialog, enter a password if necessary.
  3. Press the [OK] button to set profile protection.
  4. To remove profile protection, click [Profile] > [Access Control] > [Unprotect] from the ribbon and enter a password if necessary.
note

If you export with a protected profile, protection will also be set for the exported file. If you specify the exported profile with the following operation, the profile will be protected after the operation.

  • Specify the profile in copy format when creating a new project
  • Replace the profile