Skip to main content

commit changes and update repository

Overview​

Assists in committing changes and updating the repository.

The steps for committing changes and updating the repository are described in the following order:

  • Stage modified files
  • Unstage files
  • discard file changes
  • Commit staged files
  • Push committed changes

Stage the changed files​

To stage your modified files:

For staging all files

Staging modified files

Operation procedure
  1. Click the + button in the Changes folder in the Git navigator.
  2. Files listed under the Changes folder will be staged and a list of those files will be displayed in the Staged Changes folder.

When staging a specified file

Staging modified files

Operation procedure
  1. Mouse over the file you want to stage under the [Changes] folder in the Git navigator.
  2. Click the [+] button that appears.
  3. The specified file is staged and appears in the Staged Changes folder.

Unstage files​

To unstage a file, do the following:

If you want to unstage all files

Unstage files

Operation procedure
  1. Click the "-" button in the Staged Changes folder in the Git navigator.
  2. The files listed under the Staged Changes folder will be unstaged and a list of those files will be displayed in the Changes folder.

To unstage the specified file

Unstage a file

Operation procedure
  1. Hover over the file you want to unstage under the Staged Changes folder in the Git Navigator.
  2. Click the [-] button that appears.
  3. The specified file is unstaged and appears in the Changes folder.

Discard file changes​

To discard changes to a file and revert to the original file, follow these steps:

If you want to discard changes in all files

discard file changes

Operation procedure
  1. Click the [↓] button in the [Changes] folder in the Git navigator.
  2. The file changes displayed under the [Changes] folder are discarded and deleted from the [Changes] folder.

When discarding changes in the specified file

discard file changes

Operation procedure
  1. Mouse over the file whose changes you want to discard under the [Changes] folder in the Git navigator.
  2. Click the [↓] button that appears.
  3. Discards changes in the specified file and removes it from the Changes folder.

Commit staged files​

To commit the staged files:

commit staged files

Operation procedure
  1. Set the commit message in the Commit message (Ctrl + Enter) text box in the Git navigator.
  2. Click the Commit button in the Git navigator.
  3. The files listed under the [Staged Changes] folder are committed, and the [Staged Changes] folder is deleted.
Revert last commit

If you commit a file by mistake, you can undo your previous commit by following these steps:

Revert last commit

Operating procedure

  1. Click the three dots at the top of the Git navigator.
  2. From the menu that opens, click the Commit > Revert Last Commit button.
  3. The previous commit is undone and the changed files are reverted to their pre-commit state.

Push the committed changes​

To push files that have been committed to your local repository to a remote repository, follow these steps:

Push the committed files

Operation procedure
  1. Click the three dots at the top of the Git navigator.
  2. In the menu that opens, click the [Push] button.
  3. Push starts and completes after a certain amount of time.
About synchronizing with remote repositories
  • Click the [Sync (Pull and Push)] button at the top of the Git navigator to sync with the remote repository.
    Note that when you sync, you pull changes from the remote repository and merge them.